// 365 drawings of cats – week 4!

It’s Sunday! Yay! And that means a look back at my week of daily drawings! I can’t believe it’s February already…

25th January
Week4_1Since I’m always at work on Sundays which means I don’t have a lot of time to draw, this week I had the *inspired* idea of adding some watercolour to the pages before I left in the morning. This meant that I could do a quick doodle on my lunch break and it was still pretty interesting. Actually I was really pleased with the result and I’m going to try it out again this week too.

26th January
Week4_2Not my best page as it’s very doodly, but I got some new pens on Monday and I really wanted to try them out! The pens I got are a pastel colour range, they have twin tips (one brush one fineliner) and theyre realllly nice to colour with, think I’m going to have to get some more of the colour sets!

27th January
Week4_3
This was me trying out my new fineliners again. Most of the time I am too lazy to plan or sketch out the pages but who cares really. This is just a little bedroom scene and some buildings. yay!

28th January
Week4_4

I wrote this story ages ago about a cat that keeps on growing and then it can’t find any buildings big enough to live in. I wanted to write another mystery story about a cat looking for something. It’s double mystery because not even the cat knows what it is. No one ever will. Not even me. Maybe me.

29th January
Week4_5This page was inspired by this amazing picture I saw of Gizzi Erskine’s cat Kimchi, surrounded by all these insane fishy foods. Like there was a cake with fish skin on it, macaroons with fish tails poking out, shrimp cocktails, lobsters and crab legs everywhere. It was totally gross but also beautiful and then in the middle of it all was the sweetest little cat ever who looked like she didn’t know what to do with herself. It was great and one day I will sit down and draw Kimchi properly but in the meantime here’s a silly freeform sketch I did of it.

30th January
Week4_6This is a continuation of my ‘Dear Diary, I am a cat.’ series. I really really want to make this into a little book. I’m going to do it but it might take a while as I’m doing a million other things too. This is probably the longest I’ve spent on one drawing in this little book; I was having fun.

31st January
Week4_7

The last day of January! Insane. I just had a bubble bath that was purple (thanks Lush) and then I drew a cat riding a horse nibbling on its ear. YAY! WEEKENDZ!

As always you can follow me on Instagram HERE to keep up with the pictures as I post them daily! Check out the #tobydrawscats365 hashtag to see all of the drawings together in one place.

2 thoughts on “// 365 drawings of cats – week 4!

Leave a Reply

