// Valentines Gift Guide part 1 – Cards

VDC_7

As I mentioned in a previous post while introducing my new designs, I’ve been working on a little Valentine’s Day gift guide full of all of my favourite independent makers and designers. I decided to split the post into two halves, and here’s the first part all about cards!

There’s so much choice on the high street for Valentine’s Day cards, and yet somehow they all look the same!? I love a bit of tacky merchandise as much as the next person, but I really think that if you’re going to play along with a day as commercial as Valentines Day, you should make a bit more effort and find something more special. So here’s my pick of the best, all of which can be found on Etsy.

VDC_1You see typography around a lot these days, and while it can be beautiful I find that it can also be very samey! I love this card by illustrator Nikki Miles because it uses ALL THE COLOURS, plus the hashtag at the end is genius #justsaying.

VDC_2Speaking of all the colours… this new design by helloDODO is so bright it makes me super happy! PLUS you all know how much I love a clever pun. They have lots of other fun designs in their etsy shop too, one in particular is perfect for the beard-lovers of the world!

VDC_4

This terrier card by Forever Foxed may seem like a controversial choice for the I like CATS blog, but if you don’t know by now I LIKE DOGS TOO!

VDC_5

I just discovered Mudsplash Studios by kacey schwartz, and while there are so many amazing Valentines cards in her shop, this doughnut one particularly stole my pink-iced heart. #nowimhungry

VDC_6

Keeping on the food theme, this card by Sarah Edmonds has made me chuckle literally out loud probably more than I should admit…VDC_3I couldn’t write this post without including something for the cynics out there! I think this card by Sara Blowing, aka Floppy Broc, sums up a lot of people’s feelings towards Valentine’s Day!

I hope I’ve given you all some inspiration for finding the perfect card for your other half! Let me know your favourite in a comment!

VDC_8Toby xoxox

One thought on “// Valentines Gift Guide part 1 – Cards

Leave a Reply

